Rank Advancement

The first step in any journey is the courage to begin. The Venturing rank advancement program is designed to help Venturers grow in the areas of adventure, leadership, personal development, and service (the ALPS model). Ranks serve as benchmarks that give Venturers a structure for developing their own personal vision into manageable goals that lead to recognition by their peers, mentors, and the larger community.

The Venturing advancement has four ranks:

  • All Venturers should earn the Venturing Rank soon after formally joining the program.
  • Venturers then proceed by earning the Discovery Rank and Pathfinder Rank.
  • Finally, Venturers earn the Summit Rank, in which a young person formally serves as a mentor to other Venturers in his or her crew.

Venturing is a flexible program, and the ranks are designed to help all Venturers, no matter what their crew specialty, to grow and develop.

Venturing Rank

The first step in any journey is the courage to begin. At this level, the new crew member makes a commitment to join and move forward into the experience of Venturing. LEARN MORE

Discovery Rank

The adventure of participating with the crew unfolds, and each Venturer begins to discover his or her interests and talents. As the Discovery recipients develop new skills and competencies, their eyes are opened, and the world expands for them. LEARN MORE

Pathfinder Rank

The Venturer’s capabilities and skills expand, and with them come increased responsibility for defining their own way forward in life, service to others, and formal planning and leadership of the crew toward its goals. LEARN MORE

Summit Rank

The highest rank of Venturing, the Summit Rank, goes to those Venturers who have matured in their personal direction, skills, and life competencies, and who have accepted the responsibility to mentor others and serve their communities in a lasting way. LEARN MORE