Frank L Weil Memorial Unit Recognition Award

The award is named in memory of Frank L. Weil, one of the founders of the NJCS and its chairman from 1935-57.

Of prime importance to the National Jewish Committee on Scouting (NJCS) is its concern for quality Scouting under Jewish auspices.

The purpose of this program is to recognize the chartered organization to help motivate and improve the effectiveness of the individual unit and its adult leadership, and to provide each youth with a top-quality program.

The award, available through the NJCS, consists of:

  • A certificate for the chartered organization
  • A colored ribbon for the unit
  • A multicolored, embroidered patch for each registered member (youth and adult)

Implementing the Program

The National Jewish Committee on Scouting administers the program through the representative to each of the regions. Each unit may earn this recognition on its own merit for a particular calendar year, and may earn it for succeeding years, providing the yearly requirements are met. Units should aim to achieve all seven objectives; six (the five starred items plus one other item) must be met to qualify for the award.

Eligible units should submit certification at rechartering time directly to the National Jewish Committee on Scouting, 1325 West Walnut Hill Lane, P.O. Box 152079, Irving, TX 75015-2079. An appropriate ceremony will be arranged for presentation of this recognition.

Application Form

Download an application form for the Frank L Weil Memorial Quality Jewish Committee Award