BSA National Marketing Awards

Honoring BSA Benchmarks and Best Practices

The Boy Scouts of America National Marketing Awards Program is designed to recognize outstanding efforts by councils in marketing, communicating, implementing and promoting the Scouting program. In addition, it will allow the BSA to gather and share best practices and other successful marketing ideas to enhance the success of other councils.


Entries can be submitted in one or more of the following categories. Each entry must be submitted individually and may not be entered in multiple categories. The categories are: 

  1. Membership 
  2. Fundraising/Development 
  3. Program Implementation
  4. Volunteer Recruitment 

Submissions must be made electronically. No physical entries will be accepted. 

Submission window: October 2, 2021 – January 15, 2022 


Judging will be conducted by a panel of experienced marketing and communication volunteers. The criteria and scoring apportionments will be based on a 25 point scale and allocated as follows:

  1. Advance Planning – 5 points including research, need or opportunity definition and clarification, timetable, goals, measurement strategies, etc.
  2. Execution – 5 points What were the resources required? Were changes to the plans required while executing it? Were adaptations identified that would improve the implementation the next time or in another council?
  3. Impact – 10 points Did the project have the desired or projected impact? How significant was the end result? Did it achieve a significant impact? In what ways?
  4. Creativity/Replicability for other councils – 5 points consideration will be given to programs/plans that are unique or an unusual variation on a common area or idea. The ability to size up or size down on the concept to adapt to differing council sizes is a plus.


Entries for the previous and current year implemented anytime during October 2021 – January 15, 2022. While entries may include partially implemented programs, they will be judged on the above evaluation criteria. If the implementation carries over into the fall of the current year, the Council may submit during the next submission cycle in October of the next year. Award honorees will be notified by March 1, 2022.


A single overall winner will be selected in each category and one best overall entry. All submissions must meet the judges’ minimum professionalism standards before being eligible for an award. If no submission reaches those standards, the judges have the option to not select a winner. At their discretion, the Judges may also award one or more Honorable Mentions in each category, if the quality of a specific submission is sufficient and excellent implementation. Awards will be presented at the BSA National Annual Meeting. Winners will be provided with an appropriate digital award (e.g. digital seal; page frame) for their web/digital platform use. Certificates will also be sent electronically.