Scouting for All Ages

Cub Scouting

Cub Scouting is designed to be grade specific and age appropriate.  By completing activities called adventures, youth work towards earning a rank badge that is specific to their grade.  Cub Scouts of the same age and gender form a small group called a den and work together towards earning their adventures and rank badge.  Dens come together every so often for a Pack meeting to recognize everyone for the achivements they have earned. 

  • Lion Scouts is for youth in kindergarten and join with a parent or guardian.
  • Tiger Scouts is for youth in first-grade and join with a parent or guardian. 
  • Wolf Scouts is for youth in second-grade.
  • Bear Scouts is for youth in third-grade.
  • Webelos is for youth in fourth and fifth-grade.  Those in fifth-grade transition into a troop (Scouts BSA).

The Arrow of Light 

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light rank. It is the only Cub Scout badge that you can wear on your troop uniform. 

Scouts BSA

The Scouts BSA program is for youth who are 11 years old, are at least ten years old and have finished the fifth grade, or are at least ten years old and have earned the Arrow of Light rank as a Cub Scout. The purpose of Scouts BSA is the same as it is for Cub Scouts: to help youth grow into good citizens who are strong in character and personally fit. But because they’re older, Scouts have a program with more and bigger challenges.

Scouts work together in groups called patrols. The patrol leader is an older youth, not an adult. The Scouts in the patrol elect their patrol leader.

Patrols are part of a troop. The troop has adult leaders, but their job is to give guidance and advice to the Scouts. The Scouts run their own program.

Scouts BSA have exciting outdoor activities. They go on long camping trips and long-distance hikes. They go canoeing and whitewater rafting, and more. They move through ranks, from Tenderfoot to Eagle Scout. They earn merit badges that show many kinds of knowledge and skills. Scouts can also earn special awards for feats of skill, such as completing a mile swim or 50 miles of hiking.


Venturing is for young men and women who are 14 (and have finished the eighth grade) through 20 years old. Venturing has six experience areas: social, citizenship, service, leadership, fitness, and outdoor. The activities in Venturing help young people become adults, follow their special interests, get skills as leaders, and become good citizens.

Venturing is the last of the three Scouting programs for young people. But it isn’t the end of the Scouting trail. You can stay in Scouting even as a grown-up by becoming a member of the National Eagle Scout Association or Order of the Arrow, volunteering as an adult leader, or taking a job in professional Scouting.