Venturing Leadership Award

In order to recognize Venturers and Venturing Advisors who have made exceptional contributions to Venturing and who exemplify the Scout Oath and Law, councils, territories, and the BSA National Council may present individuals with the Venturing Leadership Award.

The council, territory, and national awards are selected by a task force of youth and adults from the respective tier and are processed by a committee that is formed by the respective level. Awards can be purchased through Scouting Supply and certificates can be made with the template below for presentation to the awardees.


  • Be registered and involved as a Venturer or Venturing advisor for at least one year.
  • Hold a leadership position or an office at the unit, district, council, territory, or national level (as appropriate for the level of the award presented).
  • Show exceptional dedication and give outstanding leadership and service to Venturing and to Venturers (on the level appropriate for the award).



  • The nomination form linked below must be used for Council, Territory, and National Venturing Leadership Award consideration.
  • The nomination forms must be submitted by the following deadlines:
    • Council: Dates are set by the local council
    • Territory: March 1
    • National: February 15
  • The nomination forms must be submitted to the following locations:
    • Council: Local council (contact information list coming soon).
    • Territory: Territory Venturing Advisor (contact information list coming soon).
    • National: National Venturing Advisor at
  • Attach letters of recommendation from Venturers, Scouters, acquaintances, teachers, place of worship, etc.
  • Youth nominations may be submitted for up to one year past the youth’s 21st birthday.

Annual Quota

  • Each tier/level may only conduct one selection per year.
  • Councils may award however many Council VLAs they choose to all qualified candidates.
  • Territories may present twelve awards per year.
  • The BSA National Council may present twelve awards per year.

Reporting and Obtaining Awards


  • Council Venturing Leadership Awards
    • Medallion suspended from blue and white ribbon, No. 4220
    • Certificate
    • Knot, No. 14220
  • Territory Venturing Leadership Awards
    • Medallion suspended from green and white ribbon, No. 606782
    • Certificate
    • Knot, No. 14220
  • National Venturing Leadership Awards
    • Medallion suspended from red and white ribbon, No. 4222
    • Certificate
    • Knot, No. 14220

Reporting and Obtaining Awards

Council VLA medallions (No. 4220), Territory VLA medallions (No. 606782) and VLA knots (No. 14220) can be purchased through National Supply. The VLA certificate is no longer available through National Supply; a fillable version may be downloaded below.