Unit Awards

These awards are granted to an entire unit (den or pack) rather than to an individual adult or youth member. Pursuing these recognitions can be a great way to practice teamwork and foster a sense of unity.

National Den Award

The National Den Award recognizes dens that conduct a quality, year-round program. Service projects, field trips, character development, and Cub Scout camping are areas that are emphasized. Dens earn the award as a team, not as individual den members. The recognition is a ribbon for the den flag or den doodle.

To earn the National Den Award, a Cub Scout den must

A. Have at least 50 percent of the den’s Scouts attend two Den meetings and one pack meeting or activity each month of the year.

B. Complete six of the following during the year:

  1. Use the denner system within the den, for Wolf, Bear, or Webelos dens.
  2. In a Lion or Tiger den, use shared leadership and rotate the Scout/adult host team.
  3. Have 50 percent of the den go on three den outings per year. 
  4. As a den, attend a Cub Scout day camp, Cub Scout or Webelos Scout resident camp, or a council family camping event with at least 50 percent of the den membership.
  5. Conduct three den projects or activities leading to a discussion of the Scout Law.
  6. Have 50 percent of the den earn at least three elective adventure loops or adventure pins.
  7. Have 50 percent of the den participate in a patriotic ceremony or parade.
  8. Have 50 percent of the den participate in a den conservation/resource project.
  9. Have 50 percent of the den participate in at least one den service project.

National Summertime Pack Award

The pack can qualify for the National Summertime Pack Award certificate and streamer by planning and conducting three pack activities—one each in June, July, and August (or during other school vacations if your pack is in a year-round school). 

Dens with an average attendance of at least half their members at the three summer pack events are eligible for a colorful den participation ribbon. Cub Scouts who participate in all three pack events are eligible to receive the National Summertime Pack Award pin, which they can wear on the right pocket flap of their uniform. This is an individual recognition for Cub Scouts, not adults.  Lions are not eligible for this award.  The award application may be found at www.scouting.org.

Scouting’s Journey to Excellence

“Scouting’s Journey to Excellence” is the BSA’s new council performance recognition program designed to encourage and reward success and measure the performance of our units, districts, and councils. It is replacing the Centennial Quality Awards Program as a means of encouraging excellence in providing a quality program at all levels of the BSA. Please click here to learn more about Scouting’s Journey to Excellence.

Veteran Unit Emblem

This emblem is a gold embroidered bar worn by Scouts and adult leaders of packs that have been chartered 50 years or longer. It is worn directly below the council patch, above and touching the pack numeral.

William T. Hornaday Unit Award

The basic purpose of the Hornaday Awards program is to encourage learning about natural resource conservation and the environment. Understanding and practicing sound stewardship of natural resources and environmental protection strengthens Scouting’s emphasis on respecting the outdoors.

A Cub Scout pack may earn this award by completing a unique, substantial conservation project. At least 60 percent of registered unit members must participate. This award is granted through the Conservation Service of the BSA National Council. Packs must apply for the award through their local council.