Other Youth Awards

In addition to the awards available through the Cub Scout advancement program, Cub Scouts may earn a number of individual awards, including the following:

Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award

All Cub Scouts have the opportunity to earn the Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award. This award recognizes the Scout’s participation in outdoor recreation and conservation projects, and can often be earned in conjunction with other Scouting activities. Click here for more information about this award.

Religious Emblems

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, many religious groups have instituted programs that enable youth to earn a religious emblem. The Boy Scouts of America has approved of these programs and allows the emblems to be worn on the official uniform. However, the emblems are awarded through the various religious organizations rather than the BSA.

For a complete list of approved emblems programs, including a list of awards that are provided by each faith, see the Religious Emblems Programs.

Cub Scout World Conservation Award

The World Conservation Award for Cub Scouts encourages Wolf, Bear, and Webelos Scouts to “think globally” and “act locally.” Scouts can earn this award by completing specific requirements for their rank in addition to advancement requirements.

Outdoor Ethics Awards

Cub Scouts who are interested in learning more about outdoor ethics and Leave No Trace may earn the Outdoor Ethics Awareness Award and the Outdoor Ethics Action Award. Click here for more information.


Cub Scouts who participate in Cub Scout derbies, field days, and other competitive events can win medals for their performance and participation. These medals can be displayed on the Scout’s uniform at appropriate events.