What is the Arrow of Light?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on email

As the highest award in Cub Scouts, the Arrow of Light is often mentioned by Scout parents and volunteers. So what is the Arrow of Light?

The award goes to Cub Scouts who have completed the Webelos rank and prepares them to become Boy Scouts.

In fact, Arrow of Light is its own rank, marking a milestone in a Cub Scout’s growth. Check out our post on the order of Cub Scout ranks to learn more about how Cub Scouts advance in the program.

The award is significant in the Scouting experience – so significant it is one of the only Cub Scout badges that can be worn on the Boy Scout uniform. There are Eagle Scouts out there still representing the Arrow of Light award alongside their Eagle Scout medals.

Are Crossover Ceremonies Part of the Arrow of Light?

While some packs may combine the celebration of these two achievements, Arrow of Light and Crossover Ceremonies are different. A Crossover Ceremony (sometimes called a Bridging Ceremony) is an event packs choose to host to recognize the Scouts moving from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts.

Often a Crossover Ceremony sends Cub Scouts to walk across a mini-bridge to symbolize their move to Boy Scouts (think of it as a Cub Scout graduation).

Arrow of Light, on the other hand, is a rank and award. It is a staple in the Cub Scout program and something many Scouts who move through Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts will achieve. See our post on Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts to learn how the programs work together.

To learn more about how Scouting tailors each step and award in the program to advance along with youth, visit Be A Scout.