NESA World Explorer

To qualify as a Eagle Scout World Explorer, candidates must:

  • Be an Eagle Scout
  • Be 18 years of age and not older than 27 years of age by June 1
  • Major or intend to major in a the field for the opportunity they are applying for
  • Be prepared to blog, speak, write, and be interviewed on behalf of Scouting to report on the trip, what it means personally, and how Scouting prepared you for the experience
  • Either have a current valid passport or obtain one no later than June 1 (does not include domestic opportunities)
  • Have medical insurance and complete a BSA Medical form

Eagle Scouts who are qualified and would like to be considered for these wonderful opportunities must complete an online application which includes a 250-word essay. Finalists will be announced by the end of January and required to submit a 3 minute YouTube video expressing reasons to support their selection within two weeks of announcement expressing reasons to support their selection.

VFW Scout of the Year

Scouts who are registered, active members of a Boy Scout Troop, Venturing Crew, or a Sea Scout Ship who have received the Eagle Scout Award, Venturing Summit Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award. Scouts must be 15 years of age and have demonstrated practical citizenship in school, scouting and the community. Scouts must be enrolled in high school at the time of selection. Note: All applicants still in high school who reach their 18th birthday during the nomination year remain eligible if otherwise qualified.

Waynesburg University Scout Scholarship

Eagle Scout, Gold Award recipients and Venturing Silver scouts can receive up to $2,000 over the course of four years ($500/year) for their accomplishment within scouting. Students must be accepted to Waynesburg University in order to qualify and provide their certificate as proof of achievement.

Abilene Christian University

ACU offers a $1,000 scholarship for students who have obtained any of the following achievements through the Boy Scouts of America: Eagle Scout, Venturing Silver or Sea Scouting Quartermaster. This scholarship is renewable annually, for up to four years.

American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year 

“The Eagle Scout who best meets the qualifications outlined in the nomination application will be selected as the American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year by the National Americanism Commission. The American Legion Eagle Scout of the Year will join the youth champion delegation and participate in the annual National Convention.”

Eastern Orthodox Committee on Scouting

To encourage our Orthodox Christian Scouts in their future studies, the Eastern Orthodox Committee on Scouting offers up to two $1000 scholarships each year. The selection process is based on applicants’ involvement and achievements in their church, school, Scouting, and community. Scholarships are contingent upon acceptance to an accredited four-year college or university.

Emmett J. Doerr Memorial Distinguished Scout Scholarship

To honor Mr. Emmett J. Doerr, who was a dedicated Catholic Scouter and a very active member of the National Catholic Committee on Scouting® (NCCS). He was the first recipient of the Brother Barnabas Founders Award. His other honors include the Silver Antelope, Silver Beaver and the St. George medals. The Doerr family and the NCCS are continuing his legacy by offering this scholarship in his name to six (6) distinguished Catholic Scouts. 

Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award

The National Eagle Scout Association has established the Glenn A. and Melinda W. Adams National Eagle Scout Service Project of the Year Award to recognize exceptional Eagle Scout service projects, which is part of the requirements for earning the Eagle Scout Award. Each local council will choose a council-level recipient, and from that pool, each region will pick a region-level recipient. A national recipient then will be selected from the four regional finalists.