Venturing Leadership Award

The Venturing Leadership Award is presented by councils, areas, regions, and the BSA National Council to Venturers who have made exceptional contributions to Venturing and who exemplify the Venturing Code and Venturing Oath.

*** In accordance with the current printing of the Venturing Awards and Requirements book, adults may be nominated for the Venturing Leadership Award for the 2014 nomination year only. As stated on the form, all nominations are due by April 1, 2015. Beginning January 1, 2015, the policy will return to allowing only youth members to be nominated for this award. Adult Venturing leaders will still be eligible to earn the Unit Leader Award of Merit. For any questions concerning this or any other Venturing matter, please email***

Additional Required Elements

  • This nomination form must be used for council, area, region, and national award consideration.
  • Attach letters of recommendation from Venturers, Scouters, acquaintances, teachers, place of worship, etc.
  • Attach additional sheets, if necessary.
  • Due to the respective recipients April 1.


  • Council
    • Medallion suspended from blue and white ribbon, No. 4220
    • Certificate, No. 33662
    • Knot, No. 14220
  • Area
    • Medallion suspended from gray and white ribbon, No. 614296
    • Certificate, No. 33662
    • Knot, No. 14220
  • Region
    • Medallion suspended from green and white ribbon, No. 606782
    • Certificate, No. 33662
    • Knot, No. 14220
  • National
    • Medallion suspended from red and white ribbon, No. 4222
    • Certificate, No. 33662
    • Knot, No. 14220


  • Be registered and involved as a Venturer for at least one year.
  • Be a youth member when nominated for the award.
  • Hold a leadership position or an office at the unit, district, council, area, region, or national level (as appropriate for the level of the award presented).
  • Show exceptional dedication and give outstanding leadership and service to Venturing and to Venturers (on the level appropriate for the award).

Quota Restrictions

  • Councils may present two awards for youth members per year for up to 50 crews/ships, and one additional youth recognition per year for each fraction of 25 crews/ships above 50 (e.g., for 51 registered crews/ships, a total of three youth awards may be presented; for 78 crew/ships, four youth awards may be presented).
  • Areas may present eight awards per year.
  • Regions may present eight awards per year.
  • National may present eight awards per year.


Council Leadership Award recommendations are only to be sent to the local council office.


Area Leadership Award recommendations are to be sent only to area Venturing Advisors.

Region and National

You can either mail them to the address below or email them to Please do not both mail and email the form.

Regional and National Leadership Award recommendations are only to be sent to:

Boy Scouts of America
Youth Development, S209
P.O. Box 152079
Irving, TX 75015-2079

Submit this nomination form.